Static Sounds Club takes to the air at One!

Hard to believe that one whole year has passed since I created this blog. I wanted a place of my own to express how much I love music. Somewhere to showcase and share amazing bands. One year on I feel I’ve only just started doing that. Looking back, I’ve been lucky enough to have had a sneaky peek at a lot of amazing music which I’m eternally grateful to all the bands and their PR people for working with me to achieve. It’s something I never take for granted and always relish.

Well, after a year Static Sounds Club is about to evolve into something else entirely.

I am also fortunate enough to contribute to the blog at DKFM Shoegaze Radio. I started doing that around the same time as starting this blog. I cannot stress enough how much I love my extended family at DKFM. They welcomed me with open arms and have got me involved in so much great stuff. From the initial blogs to providing video intros for the International DreamGaze events during lockdown to collaborating with Deborah Sexton on The Velvet Hum show to showcase the shoegaze and dreampop talent across the UK. It’s all been amazing.

Now I have been given an opportunity to create my own radio show based around this blog!!

Static Sounds Club is going live!! Me. A DJ? With my own radio show? On DKFM!!!! I’m still getting my head around that.

Just like this blog I’d like to use the show to showcase the best Shoegaze and Dreampop the UK and Europe has to offer. I’ll also have a segment where I can devote my attention to bands from further afield, worry not about that. Bands, keep getting in touch. You’ll find my contact details on the about section of the blog. Who knows? I might be playing your band next month.

I’d just like to thank Greg Wilson at DKFM for taking a shot on me. I totally appreciate it!! Also, thanks to Deborah for reaching out and getting me involved in your amazing show, The Velvet Hum. Lastly thanks to Krissy Vanderwoude for all the words of encouragement in those early days.

The first Static Sounds Club radio show goes out on DKFM Shoegaze Radio on Tuesday 17th August 10pm Central / 8pm Pacific / 11pm Eastern / 4am GMT and repeated 12 hours later. For the best listening experience, I can recommend downloading the DKFM mobile app from the Apple App Store or if you have an Android device from the Google Play Store. Hope you can tune in!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: